Health and Wellness

5 ways to celebrate Lazy Mom’s Day

There are days when it seems like I never find a moment to myself. If I’m not keeping my son entertained, I’m cooking. If I’m not cooking, I’m cleaning up after everyone. Basically I’m running around all day like a chicken with her head cut off, and I’m just praying for 5 minutes of time when no one needs me for anything.

By the end of the day, I’m exhausted and ready to go straight to bed. And it’s usually then that I start thinking about the things that I need to do to take care of myself. My nails need some serious attention. I can’t remember the last time I had a good soak in the tub. And how long has it been since I just put my headphones in and chilled out to my favorite songs?

Months, probably.

It’s hard to find time for yourself when you’re a mom. I know I’m not the only one who tends to put my own self-care on the back burner. But I’m starting to realize that I’m a much happier person and a better wife and mom when I do take the time to care for myself.

LazyMoms_Twitter.png

I think that’s really the point behind this so-called “Lazy Mom’s Day.” It’s not so much about being lazy as it is about reminding ourselves as moms to take some time to relax, to take care of ourselves. It’s okay to let the dishes go one day. It’s okay to let the laundry pile up. That’s what this day is about, and I think it’s a good day to reassess what’s really important; our health and our families.

Here’s 5 ways you can celebrate Lazy Mom’s Day:

Unplug from the phone.

I don’t think this one really needs explaining. We all spend too much time on our phones and other devices. Spend today focusing on what really matters; time for yourself and time with your family. Let the world go on without you for a little while and give your brain a rest.

Bake cookies and leave the mess for tomorrow.

I love to bake cookies, and W likes to help me every now and then. And as far as lazy day snacks go, I think cookies are pretty appropriate it. They are easy to make, done in a few minutes, and best enjoyed with a glass of milk while watching a favorite show; laziness at it’s best. My favorite cookies to bake are oatmeal chocolate chip. What’s your favorite?

Order in for dinner.

This one is obvious. If you’re going to have a truly lazy day as a mom, than you absolutely have to take a break from cooking. Have a pizza delivered or call in something at your favorite Japanese take-out place. Or if you still would prefer to cook, at least make it something easy.

Read a book while soaking in the tub.

I guess this would technically be two separate ways to celebrate, but I’m going to suggest multi-tasking on this one. Make it special with some bath salts or bubbles, candles around the room or an oil diffuser with lavender, maybe even some relaxing music or sounds of nature. Honestly, I’d like to make this activity part of my weekly self-care routine.

Enjoy a homemade face mask. 

My favorite face mask to make is a simple combination of plain Greek yogurt, honey, and lemon juice. It’s very soothing to the skin, and you can eat the leftovers! If you’re really into multi-tasking, this could be done at the same time as the previous suggestion. Whip up the mask and wear it while you’re soaking in the tub. Or you can save it until after you get out of the tub and share your lovely yogurt-covered face with your family. I’m sure they’d love to see it!

Even if none of these suggestion appeal to you, the important thing to keep in mind is that as moms, we have to take care of ourselves in order to take care of our families. We need a lazy day every now and then. So if it’s been a while since you’ve had a chance to unwind, make today the day to do it. Let me know how it goes!

 

1 thought on “5 ways to celebrate Lazy Mom’s Day”

Leave a Reply

